Mismatched

we were puzzle pieces,
never put together,
mixed, separated,
lines mismatching.

nonsensical shapes
that were not quite right.
so close,
but we didn’t fit.

my curves were too slim
to fill the hole in your heart.
my colors,
a shade too dark.

how I wished I could
be the one that would
stick to your side forever,
we, undeniably inseparable.

but it wasn’t right.
why, then, did I always
find my way back to you
when I was

lost

among thousands of pieces
you caught my eye,
but it hurt when we tried
to latch on.

I would’ve tried harder,
if only I knew that
it’d hurt even more
when we let go.

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

