Bait

If I had to eat your words

I’d starve

Because they’re so empty and hollow
Rough, harsh, hard to swallow
I chew on them slowly
Mulling over them again and again

I bite down on your bait
And you reel me in gently,
Easing into the despair
Keeping me in suspense,

Waiting for your meaningless
vocabulary to fill me up
temporarily

Each letter chokes me up,
tears stinging my eyes
as the spice gets to me

The bittersweet textures
tickling my tongue
tap dancing their way across
my taste buds

Teasing my senses,
Tumultuous tastes
That in the end mean nothing

Your taunt taught me to not trust
words

I’d rather starve

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

