Alliteration

the same sounds haunt me
every night,
endlessly.

it’s that little voice
in the back of my head hindering
me from sleep

softly saying “surrender”,
give in to your feelings
find your way back

to him.

he who held you so tightly,
taught you how to care,
caressed your body,

your soul,
your sadness,
your slowly fading feelings.

that voice,
vying for him,
vouching for him,

vanishing in the daytime,
then valiantly invading my mind once again
subtley, slowly, surely sending me back

to him.

endlessly,
every night
the same sounds haunt me

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

