Heart in Hand

The greatest thing you’ve ever taught me
Is also my greatest terror, torture,
It’s what makes me happiest, what makes me weak,
Eyes smiling, but lips trembling.

I clutch my heart to my chest,
it slips out of my palms, through my fingers,
Into your hands, attracted, acting on habit,

You’ve taught it your ways.

It sputters to life after decades of death,
Slipping unknowingly out of its innocence, its coma,
Childhood heart gone, now into the world, happy–
Where there is happiness, there is despair–

Mistaken; it knows nothing of the dangers of life,
The reality–it’s not prepared.

It is overlooked, stomped on, out of your hands
Because after you taught it how to love,

You let it go,

alone.

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

